Her Head Was in the Clouds

I have made a lot of plans, some worked and some didn’t. The more thought and hours you put into a plan the better the outcome will be. I fell in love with a young lady, who means the world to me, and she is an extension of my life. We had talked about the next step of becoming married, and I decided to follow my heart and put a plan in motion and set the date that I would ask this love of mine that question: “Will you marry me?”

I cook for the good folks at Pigeon Forge, Tennessee every year in February for their Saddle Up! celebration. I decided that the airplane ride to Nashville would be a great place to ask. It would be a perfect setting for a surprise attack.I had her trapped and  she had no place to go!  I had set this date in my mind back in September of 2010. There were many hour of preparation, countless phone calls to Southwest Airlines customer service and of course the picking of the ring. What kind? What shape? What setting? My gosh there are too many choices! But I went with my heart and decided that too.

The upcoming week was full of hours on the phone, not much sleep and thoughts of what if she said no.

The flights were divided into two segments and I decided the trip from OKC to Kansas City would be the right choice because if she said no, I could leave her in Kansas City!

We left early in the morning to get to the airport in Oklahoma City. Now the gate agents had been made aware of my intentions as well as the flight attendants, but I needed to speak to the captain personally. The night before I registered to get earlier boarding before Shannon. Another well thought ought detail to my master plan. I got on first and spoke to the flight attendant and told her I needed to speak to the captain that I was going to propose to my darling on this flight. She was almost as excited as I was. I stuck my head in the door of the cockpit and made the final arrangements. I asked the Captain to make the announcement, to ask if there was a Shannon Keller on board and that there was a cowboy beside her who had something to ask. He said he would get it done- not to worry.

Shannon boarded and sat beside me and I was as nervous as a long tail cat in a room full of rocking chairs. This was something I had dreamed of and it was about to take place.

It was a short flight and about half way in the Captain came on the intercom and made this announcement: ” You know here at Southwest we have more than just low fares, we go above and beyond the call of duty, we want you to feel comfortable and you know this is the kind of place where you could ask someone special  a very special question, like would you like to go to dinner and take 80 of your closest friends here on the plane with you? But you can also ask other important questions like…is there a Shannon Keller here on this flight?”

At that time she looked at me like a gun-shy bird dog and I told her I didn’t have a clue what was going on. The captain said, “Shannon would you raise your hand please?” Poor thing reminded me of a shy first grader who needed to go to bathroom and was afraid to ask. That little arm of hers barely got above her ear. At that time the flight attendants had gathered around and began to taking pictures. she knew was something was up but not sure what it was. At that time I began to recite this poem I had written for the special occasion:

Shannon, you know I love you more everyday, I have searched my heart for the words to say, You’ve made all step seem light and when you came into my world oh how it became bright, will you ride the trail of life with me, saddle up girl, pull your cinches tight and hang on there is a whole lot left to see, You know all I have to do to love you is let my heart beat, You’re the one I was looking for and now you’re all that I can see, I love you more today than I did yesterday but not half as much as tomorrow, so Shannon you are my love and you are my life will yo make me complete will you marry me and be my wife.

Now she was shocked- to say the least. She was like a little prairie dog that was getting shot at. Her head was going around looking in all directions. I slipped the ring on her finger and had to ask three times, ” Well will you?” Finally the light came on and she looked down at the ring and said with a quivering lip, “YES.”

What a relief! A dream come true. The surprise attack had worked and she was mine.

Shannon and me with the captain

Right after that the crew came out baring gifts they had made from raiding the bathroom. They had made a toilet paper sash that said Bride to Be, and a toilet paper roll cake complete with peanut wrapper bows. What talent!

So at 36,000 feet at 10:33 A.M. February 21, I proposed and she said yes.

Its been two weeks and she is still in shock.

We were a little closer to Heaven at that moment and I truly found an angel named Shannon.

11 thoughts on “Her Head Was in the Clouds

  1. This is quite possibly the most romantic thing I have ever read. Cried like a baby! Can’t wait to see you in 2 weeks and offer you my congratulations in person. So very happy for both of you!!

  2. So here I am this Sunday morning trying to find something to interest me while I wait out this LONG LONG winter. We still have almost two feet of snow on the ground here in Minnesota. So I thought I’d check your site to find out when you might be around to answer my phone call. I just want to catch up. And, after copying the March recipe (I always like cooking with things I haven’t eaten before, like hominy and ministroni soup), I though I’d see what was new on the blog. And what great news!!!! I don’t have to ask the aukward question about what was happening with you two. And as far as the careful planning, anyone who knows Kent should not be surprised. Nor should they express anything but good wishes and happiness for the both of you.

  3. Holy Cow Kent, way to go! Wise move Pard, trapping her on the plane like that. I suggest the same plan of attack when you tell her about the high-dollar horse you’re getting ready to buy.

    Congrats, Andy

    • Linda don’t know about being romantic but when you spend a lot of time at a wagon by yourself you can come up with nearly anything. I’m sure lucky to have her. Take care.

Leave a Reply

