It’lldo

There’s no telling how many times I heard this little saying over the years from the old timers I was around to present day… It’lldo. 

It was sometimes meant as, “That will get us by until we have time to do better,” or  “It’lldo this time, and we will gather all of them the next time.” I even heard it said by a banker once (and I just mean once and once only), when we were short on a payment by thirteen dollars, “Oh it’lldo until you can get back in here.”

It’lldo sometimes got mistaken for, “I forgot,” or “I was too busy.” After an all day affair of moving cows and patching fence some old rank cow had rearranged  Dad would say, “It’lldo until we have more time.” Well more times than not we didn’t get back that way until that same old cow had beat us out that same hole again. Cows are like elephants the rank ones never forget where an escape route is located. Then Dad would say, “That it’lldo didn’t do much for her, did it Tudor?

I have been on ranches cooking and noticed all of the old hands, by old  I mean seasoned like my iron, well used and dependable, and they got by with what they had. There was nothing fancy, no bling or chrome hanging off their rigging. And when we’d be sitting around the fire after supper some of the younger generation would make a comment, “You ought to get you some of these handmade boots or these leggings with the big concho’s on them.” Now in unison, like the choir singing at church, the old hands would chime in together and say, “Oh what I got, I guess it’lldo.” That particular it’lldo just meant they didn’t need any more than what they had and it didn’t take all that  fancy stuff to make a hand.

It’lldo should never be a saying for settling for less than your best in your work, or the way you live or even for what you expect in return. It was meant by the ones I learned it from as saying “We will get back to it later and I promise to do better” or “It’s all we got for the day and tomorrow we will finish the job we started.”

I heard my mother say, as she was dusting the furniture in our house after numerous dust storms, “It’s a spit and promise and it’lldo.” What she meant was, I’ve cleaned it with all I had at the time and I promise to do better. When you do all you can do and it’s all you’ve got, don’t be ashamed to say it’lldo. You gave your best and that’s all anyone can ask.

It’lldo might not even be considered by Webster as a proper phrase or preposistion or whatever them words are I was supposed to have learned in grammar school. But be sure to not abuse it’lldo or it will run over you. There are certain times when a it’lldo won’t do at all… that’s in loving someone, caring for someone and caring for those around you. That’s when it’s a getitdone! Shannon and I can never use an it’lldo when we’re cooking for folks ’cause it has to be our very best effort every time -that’s what the folks eating it deserve.

It’lldo is a bookmark, so you remember where you left off. Just make sure to pick the book back up because you’ll never know how the story ends if you don’t.

8 thoughts on “It’lldo

  1. You set a positive insight, much as Zig Ziglar who often speaks about getting a round to it. He often kept a coin where he painted the number “2” on one side and the word “it” on the other as a reminder, he already had a “Round To it.” Like your (It’ll do) Zig’s round to it both reflect what is an acceptable level of compromise and the efforts to excel giving one’s best. Having already a “Round-2-it” he never needed an excuse to not move forward competing those many little task that just seem to bog us down. However, if we don’t get a round to it, they add up and sometimes become overwhelming. Zig, having that coin in his pocket was a constant reminder that he had his round to it, and it’ll do….too, is the wisdom that sometimes one needs to be fugal, sometimes we need to add just a little tad of more effort, and sometimes perfection just needs to be recognized and move on, because as you said, it’ll do. Your a wise Cowboy Kent.

    • Thanks Roger, I don’t know about being so wise, it took me a lot of time to learn alot of those little lessons. I just wish I could remember half the things that bunch of Old Timers told me as well as taught me. Keep the wood dry my friend

  2. Growin’ up in Texas and never havin’ much, “it’ll do” was pretty common around our place. Many times supper was beans and corn bread. ‘When he’d finished, dad would pull out his makin’s and kiss momma on the cheek and tell her “it’ll do fine”.

    Thanks for the memory, Kent.

  3. I love this Kent! You hit the nail on the head…especially with the last paragraph! When growing up on a ranch in the NM Bootheal we had a lot of the “It’ll do” times. Ya gave it a lick ‘n a promise and it’ll do! It should be in Websters!

    Totsie Slover

Leave a Reply

