The Determination of the Beagle Boys

If you try and try again you can do it. The task may seem insurmountable,  and you may feel that no matter how hard you try you just can’t quite get it accomplished. You may even go about conducting this task thinking everyday that this is the day-I will get it done, I can make it happen! But at days end, when the curtain of darkness pulls, you find yourself empty handed again.

Should you  give up and set your sights on lesser goals, a smaller prize? I mean come on, you have been trying to accomplish this feat for some time now and just can’t get it right. People and peers alike are even beginning to doubt you and if it will ever happen. The odds of you actually obtaining this goal are slim in the world’s eyes. It’s like an old saying down in my country, “It takes a big dog to weigh a ton,” meaning it just ain’t going to happen.

But, there is that small pulse deep inside, an ever so slight beating of determination.  Against all odds it’s this voice that keeps you focused. A reminder to push forward.  So, in the morning you will start the process over again just like you have so many times before.

Sometimes along the way, there are fence posts that guide us to where we are going. They may be in the form of people or places and they act as reminders that not all is lost. I have had the pleasure of knowing several like that, and in particular two fellers that we will just call, “Beagle Boys.”

It’s like clockwork with those fellers. They set out every morning to get the job done, fully aware of the odds and doubts that others have cast upon them. After a hardy breakfast and a farewell kiss from their mother, they set off on another day of repetition- a rabbit hunt.

These two beagle dogs of mine and Shannon’s give me the inspiration to never give up, never quit and always try  to accompolish the goal I’ve set. Now as far as I know, they have never actually caught a rabbit. And you might think they would give up after years of hunting with no actual meat brought back to the table. But they teach a lesson- it’s not about the catching but the thrill of the hunt itself.

I crave their determination and grit to never give up no matter the odds. They have a job and they do it well; find and track that rabbit no matter how long it takes and do it day after day, week after week. I have heard neighbors say, “Why they ain’t never going to catch anything but a nap, and my reply is always, “You can learn a lot from them two rabbit dogs. They have passion to do what they are meant to do.”

No matter what life throws at you, use the Beagle Boys technique: start everyday with the greatest confidence in the world that you will persevere… your job is important.

I have seen that old dog we call Big’un come home when his feet are so sore that he can hardly walk and I think there is no way he can get up and go tomorrow. Then the younger one we call “Bonehead” teaches me another lesson-  encouragement! He believes in his partner and urges him to start this task all over again the next morning. It helps to have someone who believes in you, someone who has faith and a helping hand when you feel tired and them muscles ache from the day before. Believe me I have been there. Luckily, I have a partner who urges, who encourages me to go.

So the Beagle Boys would tell you this if they could, don’t give up on catching that rabbit, one day he might run into a fence post and just be waiting there for you when you least expect it. Even though they haven’t yet caught a rabbit, they’ve seen some amazing sights in their journeys. Determination is not only in your head but must be in your heart. Just keep tracking.

10 thoughts on “The Determination of the Beagle Boys

  1. Kent, this is so refreshing and encouraging! I have several things that I want to accomplish and have been sneaking up on for years. Thanks for reminding me that it is never too late to follow your dreams. We are at Ruidoso now for the Cowboy Symposium. Are you going t be here? Would love to stop by your Chuckwagon and meet you.

    Thank you again, (%judi fuller(Nacogdoches, Texas

    For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.” – Psalm 84:11

    • Judi, its never to late for the things that mean the most. Unless your burning the biscuits. We are at Silver Dollar City in Branson, for a Cowboy Festival, tell all the wagon folks howdy for me and Shannon

  2. Thanks, Kent. Just what I needed to read today. I am recovering from surgery just three weeks ago and I needed a good reminder to be more patient. Please pet the Beagle Boys for me.
    Pamela

    • Pamela, I do love those Beagles. THey are always glad to see me and Shannon no matter where we have been or how long we have been gone. Stay strong ma’am and keep your chin up

  3. After seeing you on food network, I found this post, posted on my birthday nonetheless. Watching you cook, your determination and focus was very inspiring, and instilled a new confidence in my own abilities. Thank you very much kent.

    • Daniel, thanks so much I was always taught you get by with what you have and what you get and learn to improvise. With love of a great little lady and her faith in me I love life and what it throwws at me

Leave a Reply

